Tags

,

Looked down from a broken sky
Traced out by the city lights;
My world from a mile high-
Best seat in the house tonight.
Touch down on the cold blacktop-
Hold on for the sudden stop;
Breathe in the familiar shock
Of confusion and chaos.

Are those people going somewhere?
Why have I never cared?

Give me your eyes for just one second,
Give me your eyes so I can see
Everything that I keep missing;
Give me your love for humanity.
Give me your arms for the broken-hearted,
The ones that are far beyond my reach.
Give me your heart for the ones forgotten;
Give me your eyes so I can see, yeah.

Step out on a busy street,
See a girl and our eyes meet;
Does her best to smile at me,
To hide what’s underneath.
There’s a man just to her right,
Black suit and a bright red tie,
To ashamed to tell his wife
He’s out of work,
He’s buying time.

Are those people going somewhere?
Why have I never cared?

Chorus

I’ve been here a million times;
A couple of million eyes,
Just moving, passed me by-
I swear I never thought that I was wrong.
Well, I want a second glance,
So give me a second chance
To see the way you see the people all along.

ChorusGive me your eyes,
Lord, give me your eyes,
For everything that I keep missing.
Give me your heart for the broken-hearted;
Give me your eyes,
Lord, give me your eyes

